The National Surprises Fans with New Album "Laugh Track"

By Knowladgey Team


The National, the beloved indie rock band, has sent shockwaves through the music world with the sudden release of their latest album, "Laugh Track." The surprising announcement was made during their Homecoming music festival, leaving fans ecstatic.

A Companion to "First Two Pages of Frankenstein"

"Laugh Track" was recorded during the same sessions as The National's April release, "First Two Pages of Frankenstein," making it a companion album. This unexpected drop has been the talk of the music scene, and fans couldn't be more thrilled.

Star-Studded Collaborations

"Laugh Track" boasts an impressive lineup of guest appearances, including Phoebe Bridgers and Rosanne Cash. The album also features the previously released track, "Weird Goodbyes," with Bon Iver, which initially captivated audiences in April 2022.

Extended Tour Dates

In support of "Laugh Track," The National has expanded its fall U.S. tour and announced spring shows in Australia, with none other than Fleet Foxes as their openers. Fans worldwide are eagerly anticipating these performances.

The National's Prolific Year

The National Homecoming festival in Cincinnati featured an array of performances from legendary artists like Patti Smith, Pavement, Arooj Aftab, and Weyes Blood. This comes on the heels of their April release, "First Two Pages of Frankenstein," which featured collaborations with Taylor Swift, Sufjan Stevens, and Phoebe Bridgers. The band also recently shared new singles, "Space Invaders" and "Alphabet City."

A Surprise for Fans

The album, "Laugh Track," comes as a delightful surprise, with frontman Matt Berninger announcing it during the Homecoming festival in Cincinnati. It's already available in a special limited edition at the festival, with the digital release scheduled for Sunday night and vinyl to follow in November. The band even debuted a new song from the album called "Dreaming" during their festival set.